Kashmir: A Brief Background
Against The Current vol. 149

Finkel, David; The Editors

Publisher:  Against The Current
Date Written:  01/11/2010
Year Published:  2010  
Resource Type:  Article
Cx Number:  CX13715

Kashmir was divided between India and the newly created Pakistani state in the chaotic division of the Indian subcontinent in 1947-48, with little reference to the wishes of Kashmir’s people. The larger part is occupied by India, with a volatile “Line of Control” separating it from the Pakistan-administered zone. The formal name of Indian-occupied Kashmir is Jammu and Kashmir; the Pakistan-controlled region is known as the Northern Areas (Gilgit-Baltistan) and Azad Kashmir. The territory’s largest city is Srinagar.

Subject Headings

Insert T_CxShareButtonsHorizontal.html here