The Jewish Wife & Other Short Plays

Bentley, Eric
Publisher:  Grove Press, Inc., New York, USA
Year Published:  1965  
Pages:  172pp  
Resource Type:  Book
Cx Number:  CX8658

A collection of six short plays.

Abstract:  The Jewish Wife and Other Short Plays is a collection of six short plays by Bertolt Brecht, translated into English. The Jewish Wife, The Informer, and In Search of Justice are all "tales of horror," scenes from life under the Nazis. The Elephant Calf was written as a kind of appendix to Brecht's comedy A Man's Man, The Measures Taken is a "counter-religious oratorio" and The Exception and the Rule is a morally instructive piece. The plays are mainly tragic and some of them are very short, not more than three or four pages each. The book contains two appendices: Salzburg Dance of Death (with an introduction) and What Was He Killed For? The former is a fragmentary play, based on a manuscript which recently came to light, while the latter is a critical essay on the play Strong Measures.

[Abstract by Nabeeha Chaudhary]

Insert T_CxShareButtonsHorizontal.html here